View Article

The 55th Caribbean Table Tennis Championships concluded on Saturday evening with the finals of the ladies and men’s open singles and Closing and Awards Ceremony at the Beausejour Indoor.

Eva Brito of the Dominican Republic won both the junior girls and ladies open singles titles while Trinidadian pro, Dexter St. Louis captured the men’s singles title against Emil Santos of the Dominican Republic in straight sets.

Isaac Vila of the Dominican Republic captured the Boys singles title and former Caribbean Open Singles Champion, Raul Betancourt of Cuba, won the Masters Open singles title.

In the doubles event, Trenace Lowe and Chelsea Edghill of Guyana won the ladies doubles; Juan Vila Batista and Emil Santos of the Dominican Republic won the men’s doubles while Dexter St. Louis and Rheanne Chung won the mixed doubles title.

In terms of Country performance, the Dominican Republic dominated winning 5 of the 10 first place titles; Trinidad and Tobago ranked second with 3 of 10 titles and Cuba and Guyana third, with 1 each.

St. Lucia placed 5th out of 10 teams in the Men’s Team Event and Teddy Matthews, a former Caribbean Junior Champion and President of the St. Lucia National Table Tennis Association showed his might by placing 3rd in the Masters Open Singles event.

Chairperson of the Organizing Committee, Elizabeth Charles-Soomer indicated that she is satisfied overall with St. Lucia’s hosting of the both the OECS and Caribbean Championships.

It involved hard and continuous work but the team of 6 committee members, volunteers and officials enabled by kind sponsors, worked well together and delivered a high quality event.

The Organizing Committee is to meet later this week to fully assess the tournament both in terms of the hosting and the national team’s performance.

Actions: E-mail | Permalink |