View Article

The Government of St Lucia has taken a strong position on travel to the country following international reports regarding the spread of the deadly Ebola virus.

A statement released by the Press Secretary to the Prime Minister on Wednesday notes that given the extent of the outbreak of Ebola affecting Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Kenny D. Anthony has advised the Commissioner of Police, Mr. Vernon Francois, to implement with immediate effect, a prohibition on persons from these countries who wish to travel to Saint Lucia. All visitors from Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone will be denied entry into Saint Lucia until further notice.  

The statement adds that despite the fact that  the  President of Nigeria has declared that country Ebola free, visitors from Nigeria will be required to present a recent medical certificate which clears him/her of the virus, in addition to a VISA to be allowed entry into Saint Lucia.  

The Prime Minister says, the Government of Saint Lucia continues to monitor the outbreak and has allocated resources to prepare for any possible threat. Recent events in Dallas, Texas have prompted a heightened awareness and necessitate strong action to ensure that Saint Lucia is protected.   

The statement further notes that the Ministry of Health will continue to monitor developments in the United States and Europe, the three severely affected West African countries and will provide updates to the public. 
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Post Rating

© 2018 by RCI St. Lucia   |   Login